UNSW School of Photovoltaic & Renewable Energy Engineering
2012 SEMI Roadmap for Photovoltaics: Bigger, Thinner, Faster, Cheaper
Martin Green, AM, FAA, FTSE, FIEEE - Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics & UNSW SPREE

Martin Green, AM, FAA, FTSE, FIEEE, at UNSW SPREE, 19 April 2012

Martin Green, AM, FAA, FTSE, FIEEE (65Min)

Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics & UNSW SPREE

Martin Green speaks at UNSW SPREE


Industry roadmaps have played a major role in the microelectronics industry in focussing manufacturers, researchers and equipment suppliers on common targets for future technology development. In 2010, the first roadmap for the photovoltaics industry was published, with a major update published recently at the end of March 2012.

The key features of the new roadmap will be described. Particularly interesting are variations from the previous 2011 roadmap as these indicate refinements in thinking about the future of the industry based on the very rapid progress over the last year.

Click HERE to download a PDF of the slides.
Click here to see all available video seminars.
Click here to go to the SPREE HOMEPAGE.



Brief Bio

Professor Martin A. Green, academic and physicist in the field of photovoltaics has made significant contributions to the advancement of solar cell technology. He is currently serving as the director of the Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics (ACAP) at the University of New South Wales (UNSW). Professor Green has conducted extensive research on high-efficiency solar cells, silicon photovoltaics, and advanced manufacturing techniques.

• 1982 Pawsey Medal (Australian Academy)
• 1990 IEEE Cherry Award
• 1992 CSIRO External Medal
• 1995 IEEE Ebers Award
• 1999 Australia Prize
• 2000 Gold Medal from the Spanish Engineering Academy
• 2000 Medal of Engineering Excellence for Distinguished Achievement in the Service of Humanity from the World Engineering Federation
• 2000 Millennium Award from the World Renewable Congress
• 2002 Right Livelihood Award
• 2003 Karl Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit Award from the University of Delaware
• 2008 Winner, 2008 Scientist of the Year Award
• 2009 Zayed Future Energy Prize finalist
• 2012 Member of the Order of Australia